Board Members
The Authority consists of eight voting members appointed by the Governor to a 4-year term including one member each from Escambia, Santa Rosa, Walton, Okaloosa, Bay, Gulf, Franklin, and Wakulla Counties. The Florida Department of Transportation District 3 Secretary serves as an ex-officio, nonvoting member. The current board consists of the following members:

Mr. Robert B. Montgomery



Mr. Robert B. Montgomery
Escambia County│Chairman
Robert B. Montgomery was appointed to the board in September 2005 by Governor Jeb Bush and represents Escambia County. Mr. Montgomery attended Pensacola Junior College and graduated in 1967 with an Associate of Arts degree. He also attended Florida State University, School of Business and graduated in 1969 with a Bachelor of Science degree.

Mr. Montgomery is the owner of Montgomery Realtors in Pensacola, Florida and has owned this business since 1971. Mr. Montgomery is currently active as a Board member of the Pensacola Junior College Foundation, member of the BB&T Bank Board of Directors, member of the Florida Alabama Strategic Task Force, member of Gateway Review Board in Pensacola, and a member of the Gulf Breeze High School Advisory Committee, just to name a few. Mr. Montgomery has had a long history of being actively involved in the community.


Mr. James F. Anders, II



Mr. James F. Anders, II
Walton County│Vice Chairman
James F. Anders, II was appointed to the board in September 2005 by Governor Jeb Bush and represents Walton County. Mr. Anders was born in 1951 in Marianna, Florida and grew up in Blountstown, Florida. Mr. Anders graduated from Blountstown High School in 1969 and graduated from the University of Florida in 1974 with a BSBA degree in Management. After he graduated college he worked in the family farm equipment and timber business in Blountstown, Florida. Mr. Anders currently buys and sells Land and Timber real estate through NW Florida. Mr. Anders moved to South Walton County in 1996, built a home on Camp Creek Lake in 1997 and presently resides there. Mr. Anders has lived his entire life in the Florida Panhandle.


Mr. J. Carey Scott, III



Mr. J. Carey Scott, III
Bay County│Secretary/Treasurer
J. Carey Scott was appointed to the board by Governor Charlie Crist in 2009.  Carey lives and is from Panama City where he is involved in various businesses.  Carey attended and graduated from the University of South Carolina and The Florida State University.  He has two children, Elizabeth and Nelson.

Carey has served on various public and charitable boards over the years and is firmly committed to the growth and success of Northwest Florida. Most recently, he chaired the planning board for the City of Panama City for ten years. 


Honorable Cheryl K. Sanders



Honorable Cheryl K. Sanders
Franklin County│Board Member
Cheryl Sanders was appointed to the board by Governor Jeb Bush in September 2005 to represent Franklin County. Cheryl was born and raised in Franklin County. She graduated from Carrabelle High School in 1973 and attended Lively Vocational Technical School in Tallahassee. Cheryl and her husband Oscar have been married for 33 years.

Cheryl was elected to the Franklin County Board of County Commissioners in 1998 and was re-elected in 2002 and 2006. While on the County Commission, she served as Vice-Chairman from 2000-2002 and Chairman from 2002-2006. She presently sits on the Florida Association of Counties as a Board Member and also sits on the Small county Coalition representing the Northern Gulf Coast Region which includes several of the counties that are in the Authority.

"In my years of public service it has always been about the people and their needs. It's not about making promises that you can't keep, it's about making commitments to the people you serve," says Mrs. Sanders.


Mr. Gordon Sprague



Mr. Gordon Sprague
Santa Rosa County│Board Member
Gordon Sprague was appointed to the board on August 2012 by Governor Rick Scott and represents Santa Rosa County. Mr. Sprague was a member of the United States Air Force from 1957 to 1961. In 1965 he received his Bachelor of Science degree from the Florida State University. In 1975 he earned his Masters degree in Allied Health Sciences from the University of North Florida.

Mr. Sprague was employed with the cities of Tallahassee, Clearwater, West Palm Beach, Jacksonville and Memphis, TN. He was also employed with Fogelman Properties in Memphis and was National Sales Manager for AIM a mutual fund money management firm in Houston, TX.

Mr. Sprague has been an active member of several boards including Florida State University Boosters and Foundation boards, Florida State University Panama City Campus Community Partners board, President Emeritus of Gulf Breeze Area Historical Society, Institute for Human and Machine Cognition, University of West Florida Foundation board and Chairman of Florida State University National Alumni Board.

In 2001, Mr. Sprague received the Florida State University Outstanding Alumni Award (College of Education). He wrote and published his autobiography, Flash Back and also raced Winston Cup Stock cars for 3 seasons. Presently he is involved in his family dairy and forest activities in Vermont. He owns and operates a Rock Quarry. Mr. Sprague has been married to Bette for 50 years and has 2 children and 4 grandsons.


Mr. Robert E. McGill, III



Mr. Scott Gaby
Wakulla County│Board Member
Mr. Scott Gaby was appointed to the Board in August 2012 by Governor Rick Scott and represents Wakulla County. Mr. Gaby graduated from Chipola in 1971. In 1973, he graduated from Florida State University with a Bachelor of Science in Finance. He is also a graduate of the Louisiana State University Banking School of the South.

Mr. Gaby has been active in civic organizations in Wakulla county for the past several years. He has served on the Tallahassee Community College Board and was president of the Wakulla Chamber of Commerce.

Mr. Gaby has been in the banking industry since 1974. He is currently Vice President with Farmers & Merchants Bank of Monticello. Mr. Gaby has been married to Julie for forty years and has three children.


Mr. Peter Bos



Mr. Peter Bos
Okaloosa County│Board Member
Peter Bos was appointed to the board in July 2015 by Governor Rick Scott and represents Okaloosa County. Mr. Bos was born in Buffalo, NY; he graduated from Cornell University in Ithaca, NY with a B.S. degree in Hotel and Restaurant Administration.

After he graduated college, he moved to Florida and joined Fletcher Properties where he developed, constructed, marketed and operated several residential communities in Jacksonville, Birmingham, and Memphis. In 1975, he formed his own company; some of the projects he developed are Sandestin Beach Resort, Hyatt Key West and the Bottling Court in Key West. The company eventually evolved into Legendary, LLC based in Destin. Legendary developments include Regatta Bay, Destin Commons, HarborWalk Village, Emerald Grande, Legendary Marine, Mid-Bay Marina, and Regatta Bay Golf & Yacht Club.

Mr. Bos is currently on the Gulf Consortium Board. In 2012, he was named Florida Lodging and Restaurant Association's Hotelier of the Year, and has served on numerous local governmental and charitable committees. He has also served as an Honorary Commander of Eglin AFB's 53rd Wing and Hurlburt Field AFB's 1st Special Operations Wing. Peter and his wife Terri live in Destin; he has two sons, two daughters, and four grandchildren.